DSR Drop Problem

After a bit of testing with the Caller ID RSS feed I found that a bit later, the modem wasn’t responding to incoming calls. The modem log had a line in it reporting:

“DSR drop while monitoring for calls”

This has been mentioned before on the net on some forums, but no resolution was found. There were a few suggestions…

http://hardware.mcse.ms/archive64-2006-1-274058.html

Hopefully adding the following initialisation string to the modem’s extra settings will do the trick:

AT&S0 (0=zero) [this should force DSR to remain on]

If anyone knows of another solution, please get in touch.

[Update 1 – using this initialisation string made no difference.. after taking a voice call & hanging up, the modem stops monitoring for calls. I’ve raised this with US Robotics tech support so I’ll see what they say]

[Update 2 – Hats off to USR tech support; they got back to me straight away saying that the initialisation string should be AT&S0=0 .. I’ll be giving that a try tonight! :-)]

[Update 3 – That setting didn’t make any difference and the issue has been escallated to USR’s 2nd line support. I’ve yet to hear anything back from them]

[Update 4 – 2nd line support noticed that the initialisation string was incorrect. It should read &S0. That did the trick for me & I’ll post a full description in a new blog entry]

[Update 5 – Ooops! I posted the wrong value.. it should read &S1 ]

Leave a comment