YAC RSS Feeds

After the success of getting YAC to distribute the phone number of incoming calls to devices on my network (including my Xbox via XMBC) I wondered how I could get notification on my desktop at work. YAC broadcasts on a port, and that doesn’t gel with corporate firewalls.. but it does create a log:

****************************************
YAC 0.16 Started: 25 June 2006 – 10:13:57
Running in Server mode.

***** INCOMING CALL: 25 June 2006 – 18:04:28 *****
NAME: YAC Test Call
NUMBER: (425) 555-1212

***** INCOMING CALL: 25 June 2006 – 18:07:58 *****
NAME: YAC Test Call
NUMBER: (425) 555-1212

Since I have a webserver running at home, putting this log into the public folder of the web server made it available wherever I was in the world. This still isn’t ideal; I’d rather not have to check whether I’ve missed any important calls.

RSS feeds seemed the logical progression. I have a few RSS readers installed, and they’ll poll at whatever duration you specify. YAC doesn’t output an RSS feed and I was pulling my hair out trying to compile the YAC source even without modifications!

Instead of modifying YAC, I simply wrote a small PHP script to parse the log file and strip out what I needed. Feed Creator can then be used to create a quick RSS feed from the data.

Here’s the finished script. Enjoy!! :-D

If you find it useful, a small donation via PayPal (no matter how small) would really make my day!

Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Leave a Reply

