My Android App Essentials

After recently moving from an old Samsung Galaxy S3 to LG G3 (which I thought was a bargain at £189), I reviewed the list of apps I had previously installed & made sure they were still relevant to my new phone. I thought it’d be useful to list out the best ones so here’s what I installed (beyond the usual apps like Twitter, iPlayer);

  • ASTRO – For managing files
  • Avast Mobile Security – I use this on all my PCs so adding it to the phone makes sense
  • Barcode Scanner – Primarily for scanning QR Codes
  • BT SmartTalk – Make VoIP calls using my landline pricing structure
  • BT Wi-fi – Connect free to any BT wifi access points
  • Chrome – Better than the stock browser
  • Evernote – We have this on our family phones for keeping notes.. often taking pictures of letters before binning them
  • FreeOTP – An alternative to Google Authenticator
  • MightyText – Receive and send texts from my desktop PC
  • MX Player – Plays any media you can think of
  • National Rail – Train info
  • Network Scanner – Handy for tracking down the IP of devices on my home network
  • Nights Keeper – Set sound profiles based on day/time.. basically turns the sound off at night UPDATE: Replaced by Timerific
  • Photos – Google photos.. enabling easy backup to the cloud
  • Pixlr – Quick and easy image editing on the move
  • Podkicker – Download and listen to podcasts
  • Rewards – Take short surveys to get small amounts of cash to spend in the Google Play Store
  • SwiftKey Keyboard – Better than most stock keyboards
  • System Tuner – Handy for debugging apps
  • Timeriffic – When I was having variable success with Wifi Timer on my LG G3, I found this worked perfectly and could also replace Nights Keeper
  • tinyCam Monitor – Connect to various IP cameras
  • Twilight – Adjust the blue light emissions on the phone’s screen after it’s dark outside
  • Unified Remote – Helps control my HTPC if I need to use a mouse/keyboard
  • Wifi Analyser – Looks at what wifi access points are in range
  • Wifi Timer – Switch of wifi based on time of day.. i.e. switch it off at night + when I’m at work UPDATE: Replaced by Timerific due to problems getting it to work all the time on the LG G3
  • World Clock – Handy when I’m travelling; has a widget to put on my homescreen

Leave a Reply

